Skip to content

{Father} Definition Original Dictionary Papercut

06/04/2010

Several weeks ago I received an inquiry about a custom dictionary cutout featuring definition of “Father”. This week another PaperCutWorks visitor requested their own unique piece. It’s a natural follow up to {Mother} – a very popular cutout in May. Dictionaries are a little easier to work with than maps. For one, they are made of thinner paper. But just as importantly, it takes very little time to find a word than a little town or a well designed (colors are key!) representation of a Middle Eastern country. As this reader may have already noticed, I mount dictionary papercuts to black stock paper while maps are featured against white background. This is my current preference but when I create custom pieces (these constitute majority of my work) this design element is also customizable.

Dictionary cut before being mounted to black card stock.

© Copyright 2010 by PaperCutWorks. All rights reserved.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/08/2010 13:00

    Another wonderful piece! I’ve admired so many of your papercut blocks, I think I am going to have to inquire about a custom one.

    • 06/08/2010 19:26

      Thank you Bonnie! Coming from one of my all time favorite photographers, this means a lot to me. Glad to see you’re back from your travels!

Leave a Reply

